Unser Verein> Registrierung> Über Registrierung

Wir wissen, wie sehr jeder Registrierungspapiere liebt und dass es manchmal verwirrend sein kann. Wir haben also eine Lösung! Eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung zum Registrieren Ihres Pferdes. Wir hoffen, dass dies im Laufe der Jahre eine nützliche Ressource für Sie sein wird. Jedes Formular, das Sie möglicherweise benötigen, wird erklärt und in diesem Handbuch enthalten. Unsere Formulare sind auch online oder in gedruckter Form unter der Rufnummer 817.783.5600 erhältlich. Wir sind hier , um Ihnen durch diesen Prozess helfen, so dass , wenn Sie weitere Hilfe möchten oder einige Informationen benötigen, rufen Sie uns bitte unter 817.783.5600 oder per E - Mail registration@amha.org

Bevor Sie beginnen, um mit der AMHA Geschäfte zu machen, müssen Sie ein aktuelles Mitglied sein. Noch kein Mitglied? Sie können einfach den Antrag ausfüllen und zusammen mit Ihren Registrierungsunterlagen einsenden. BITTE BEACHTEN SIE:Eine Jugendmitgliedschaft hat keine Registrierungsrechte.

 

 

 

SCHRITT 1 - REGISTRIERUNGSANWENDUNG

 

Für detaillierte Anweisungen zum Ausfüllen des Registrierungsformulars klicken Sie bitte hier.

Für alle Fohlen sollte ein Registrierungsantrag ausgefüllt werden. Die wirtschaftlichste Möglichkeit, Ihre Pferde zu registrieren, besteht darin, dies vor dem 4. Lebensmonat zu tun. Registrierungsformulare können online ausgefüllt werden, müssen jedoch gedruckt, unterschrieben und an das AMHA-Büro gesendet werden. Wenn Ihr Fohlen 24 Monate und älter ist, muss es DNA-getestet und von den Eltern qualifiziert sein.

 

 

 

Die Anmeldegebühren sind wie folgt:

GEBÜHR (USD)

25,00 $

30,00 $

$ 35.00

$ 45.00

$ 60.00

$ 10,00

ALTER

Geburt - 4 Monate

Über 4 Monate - 8 Monate

Über 8 Monate - 12 Monate

Über 12 Monate - 24 Monate

Über 24 Monate * Elternqualifikation erforderlich *

Wallach (in jedem Alter, wenn bereits Wallach )

REGISTRIERUNG ABSCHNITT 1:

1. Wählen Sie einen Namen für Ihr Pferd. Registrierte Namen dürfen nicht länger als 35 Zeichen einschließlich Leerzeichen sein, und Interpunktion ist nicht zulässig. Sobald ein Pferd benannt ist, ist es das! Sie oder ein zukünftiger Besitzer können dieses Pferd nicht umbenennen, wählen Sie es also sorgfältig aus!

(Namensinfo: Die meisten AMHA-Pferde tragen am Anfang ihres Namens ein Farmpräfix oder einen Farmnamen. Dies ist nicht erforderlich, hilft Ihnen jedoch dabei, eine Anerkennung für das Zuchtprogramm auf Ihrem Bauernhof aufzubauen. Wenn Sie ein Farmpräfix für reservieren möchten Für Ihre ausschließliche Verwendung können Sie eine Präfixreservierung beantragen

Eine weitere häufig zu berücksichtigende Namensoption besteht darin, einen Teil des Namens des Vaters oder der Mutter in den Namen des Fohlens aufzunehmen. Typischerweise ist es der Name des Vaters, der verwendet wird, um sich in den Fohlen zu widerspiegeln, die er produziert. Aber wenn die Blutlinie einer Stute eine hoch angesehene Showpferd-Linie hat oder sie zuvor einen Show-Gewinner hervorgebracht hat, kann sich ihr Name auch im Namen des Fohlens widerspiegeln.

Wenn Sie möchten, dass die AMHA einen Namen für Ihr Pferd auswählt, oder dass wir das Pferd benennen, wenn Ihre ersten beiden Auswahlmöglichkeiten nicht verfügbar sind, markieren Sie einfach das Kästchen mit der Aufschrift „Ja, ich ermächtige die AMHA, einen Namen auszuwählen, wenn die oben genannten Entscheidungen sind nicht verfügbar oder zu beanstanden.

BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: Wenn der Eigentümer / Pächter der Mutter zum Zeitpunkt des Fohlens das Fohlen nicht registriert, verliert der Eigentümer / Pächter das Recht, den Nachwuchs zu benennen.

2. Bestimmen Sie die Größe, das Geschlecht, das Fohlendatum und das Wallachdatum Ihres Pferdes (falls zutreffend). Benötigen Sie Hilfe bei der Bestimmung der Größe Ihres Pferdes? Klicken Sie hier, um die Anleitung zum Messen anzuzeigen.

3. Bestimmen Sie die Fellfarbe Ihres Pferdes. Jede der im Formular aufgeführten Optionen verfügt über ein Dropdown-Untermenü der Farbmuster, die von der AMHA erkannt werden. Die Fellfarbe eines Pferdes kann sich mit dem Alter ändern, und mit der AMHA können Sie bei Bedarf die Farbe Ihres Pferdes korrigieren. Wenn Sie die Farbe Ihres Pferdes korrigieren müssen, müssen Sie das Originalzertifikat und die aktuellen Fotos einreichen. Die Auswahl einer Pferdefarbe kann manchmal überwältigend sein. Wenn Sie nicht das Gefühl haben, sicher zu sein, welche Farbe Ihr Pferd hat, markieren Sie bitte einfach "Ja, ich ermächtige die AMHA, die Farbe so zu kennzeichnen, wie sie durch die eingereichten Fotos dargestellt wird." Einige unserer Mitarbeiter identifizieren seit mehr als 15 Jahren Fellfarben und helfen Ihnen gerne weiter. Für weitere Informationen und Beispiele zur Pferdefarbe klicken Sie bitte hier .  

4. Nachdem Sie die Farbe Ihres Pferdes identifiziert haben, ist es an der Zeit, alle weißen Bein- oder Gesichtsmarkierungen zu notieren, die es einzigartig machen. Dies ist nur eine weitere Möglichkeit, Ihr Pferd während seines gesamten Lebens zu identifizieren. BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: Wenn Ihr Pferd ein Pinto oder ein Pintaloosa ist, zeichnet die AMHA die Bein- oder Gesichtsmarkierungen nicht auf. Wir verwenden den weißen Körper dieser Pferde, um sie zu identifizieren. Wenn Ihr Pferd Pinto oder Pintaloosa ist, können Sie diesen Schritt überspringen. Beispiele für Markierungen finden Sie hier .

5. PARENTAGE INFORMATION The following information on the Registration Application

is required. Please be sure to complete all of the information requested in this section with current AMHA information. If you do not know the AMHA registered name or number of the sire or dam, we may be able to help you locate it. Just call 817.783.5600 or email us.

 

Some important items to note:

  • If you purchased a mare in foal, please be sure to Transfer the mare into your name PRIOR to trying to register the foal.

  • Please note that if eligible, the sire and dam must have been brought Permanent before the foal can be registered.

  • The sire and dam of any foal applying for AMHA Registration MUST have been DNA tested  if born after 1996. In addition, any stallion that has bred 5 or more mares within one breeding year, must be DNA tested.

  • You can call us at 817.783.5600 to verify if this has been done.

  • The recorded owner of the Dam's information MUST BE provided here. If you did not own the Dam at the time of foaling, you must have the recorded owner complete this section.

  • BREEDERS PLEASE NOTE: This is a step that delays many new foal registrations. If you plan to sell a horse that has not yet been registered, please provide the new owner with this section of the form completed.

REGISTRIERUNG ABSCHNITT 2:

ZÜCHTER-SERVICE-ZERTIFIKAT

BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: Wenn Sie zum Zeitpunkt der Zucht sowohl die Stute als auch den Hengst besaßen, können Sie diesen Abschnitt überspringen. Wenn Sie zum Zeitpunkt der Zucht weder die Stute noch den Hengst besaßen, müssen die folgenden Informationen angegeben werden.

Wenn Sie Ihre Stute mit einem anderen Hengst (einem Außenhengst) gezüchtet haben, haben Sie möglicherweise bereits ein Züchterdienstzertifikat erhalten. Wenn ja, reichen Sie es einfach zusammen mit dem Registrierungsantrag ein. Wenn Sie ein Breeders Service Certificate einreichen müssen, müssen Sie diesen Abschnitt nicht ausfüllen.

BITTE BEACHTEN SIE Wenn Sie nach den Daten der Zuchtsaison gefragt werden, stellen Sie bitte sicher, dass diese mit den im Hengstzuchtbericht angegebenen übereinstimmen.

REGISTRIERUNG ABSCHNITT 3:

EIGENTUMSÜBERTRAGUNG UND HÖHENZERTIFIZIERUNG

Eine vollständige Liste der Übertragungsanforderungen finden Sie im Eigentumsübertragungsformular .

Dieser Abschnitt des Registrierungsantrags muss nur ausgefüllt werden, wenn Sie das Fohlen zum Zeitpunkt der Registrierung verkaufen. Wenn Sie das Pferd gleichzeitig mit der Registrierung verkaufen, müssen alle folgenden Informationen übermittelt werden. Bitte geben Sie unbedingt das Datum der Überweisung an. Zum Zeitpunkt des Verkaufs / Transfers müssen Käufer und Verkäufer die Größe des Pferdes vereinbaren. Nach Abschluss der Registrierungstransaktion wird das Registrierungszertifikat an den Käufer gesendet. Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Überweisungsgebühr anfällt.

 

Schritt 2: Einreichung des Fotos

Bitte verwenden Sie dieses Foto-Einreichungsformular, wenn Sie Registrierungsfotos einreichen.

  • Alle Anträge, Übertragungen und Transaktionen von Zeit zu Dauer MÜSSEN MINDESTENS VIER (4) AKTUELLE Farbfotos mit allen Markierungen enthalten.

  • Fotos dürfen nicht größer als 3 x 3 Zoll sein, wobei das Bild des Pferdes 80% des Fotos ausmacht.

  • Die vier Fotos müssen wie folgt sein: Linke Seite, Rechte Seite, Kopfschuss 1, Kopfschuss 2

  • Die Kopfschüsse müssen von dem Kopf sein, der der Kamera zugewandt ist, wobei der Vorschloss vollständig zur Seite gezogen ist, damit die gesamte Ebene des Gesichts klar sichtbar ist.

  • Die Seitenschüsse müssen das gesamte Pferd von den Ohren bis zu den Hufen zeigen.

 

Hier sind einige Beispiele für akzeptable Fotos.

RECHTE SEITE

HEADSHOT 1

LINKE SEITE

HEADSHOT 2

WAS KOMMT ALS NÄCHSTES?

Wenn Sie das Registrierungsantragsformular ausgefüllt haben und Ihre vier aktuellen Fotos zur Einreichung bereit haben, senden Sie sie uns und wir übernehmen sie von hier aus! Eine Liste der aktuellen Gebühren finden Sie auf dem AMHA-Arbeitsauftragsformular. Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die vollständige Zahlung in US-Dollar einreichen. Bewerbungen werden erst bearbeitet, wenn sie vollständig bezahlt sind. BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: Nach Erhalt variiert die durchschnittliche Bearbeitungszeit für Anträge stark. Die Rücksendung eines genauen und vollständig ausgefüllten Antrags dauert durchschnittlich 14 bis 21 Tage. Während des ganzen Jahres treten bestimmte Perioden mit hohem Volumen auf, die die Durchlaufzeiten verlängern.

 

KÄUFER ACHTUNG!

Bitte lesen Sie die möglichen Betrügereien und Bedrohungen, die Sie beim Kauf Ihres Pferdes beachten sollten.

Käufer Vorsicht. Diese Worte sollten jedem neuen Pferdebesitzer Angst einjagen. Da unser Pferdemarkt leider dem Gebrauchtwagengeschäft sehr ähnlich ist, wird alle 15 Minuten ein neuer Sauger geboren! Es gibt viele skrupellose Pferdebesitzer, die nur darauf warten, sich auf eine verliebte neue Mini-Person zu stürzen, die den Verkauf mit dem Versprechen eines registrierbaren Pferdes abschreckt, wenn nichts weiter von der Wahrheit entfernt sein könnte.

Niemand hört mehr von diesen Leidensgeschichten als die AMHA Registration Supervisorin Pam Pruitt. Nachdem sie über 10 Jahre in der Registrierungsabteilung gearbeitet hat, hat sie viele schlechte Situationen zur Auswahl, aber sie teilt einige der häufigsten Szenarien zwischen neuen Pferdebesitzern und Verkäufern, die gerade ein nicht registriertes Fohlen abgeladen haben.

"Es macht uns traurig, die Enttäuschung des Fohlenbesitzers zu hören, wenn wir ihnen mitteilen müssen, dass wir keine Aufzeichnungen über ein Fohlen mit diesem Namen haben und dass wir keine registrierten Fohlen haben, die in diesem Jahr aus dieser Stute oder diesem Hengst geboren wurden."

Pam teilt mit: "Normalerweise ist es der Dominoeffekt, der Verkäufer züchtet seine Stuten zu einem seiner Hengste und vergisst dann entweder, den Hengstbericht einzureichen oder will die späte Strafe nicht bezahlen." Und so verschlechtert sich die Situation. Zum Zeitpunkt der Geburt des Fohlens gibt es bei AMHA keine Aufzeichnungen über die Zucht, und es wird höchstwahrscheinlich zu diesem Zeitpunkt andere Probleme geben. Ein Problem, das leicht unter den Teppich zu kehren ist und viele Menschen unvorbereitet erwischt, ist die Regel, dass sowohl der Vater als auch die Mutter einer DNA-Prüfung unterzogen werden MÜSSEN, wenn sie Tiere züchten und Fohlen produzieren. Hinzu kommt die Möglichkeit, dass der Vater und die Mutter inzwischen auch 5 Jahre alt sind. In diesem Fall müssen sie in einen dauerhaften Status versetzt werden. Wenn dies für einen Züchter, der seit einiger Zeit mit Minis beschäftigt ist, verwirrend ist, können Sie sich die Frustration des neuen Fohlenbesitzers vorstellen!

Was kann ein „Neuling“ tun, um nicht „abgezockt“ zu werden? Wenn Sie ein bereits registriertes Pferd kaufen, müssen Sie Folgendes haben, wenn Sie auf der gepunkteten Linie unterschreiben möchten. HALT! Und stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie Folgendes erhalten:

MUSS HABEN:

Ein ORIGINAL-Zertifikat. Originalzertifikate haben Originalfotos des Pferdes auf dem Rücken. Schauen Sie genau hin und stellen Sie sicher, dass es das Pferd ist, das Sie kaufen.

Ein ORIGINAL-Eigentumsübertragungsformular mit allen ausgefüllten Lücken. Die aktuelle Größe des Pferdes muss unabhängig vom Alter des Pferdes angegeben werden.

Stellen Sie sicher, dass der letzte auf der Rückseite des Zertifikats aufgeführte Eigentümer derjenige ist, der den Verkäuferabschnitt des Überweisungsformulars unterschreibt.

Aktuelle Fotos müssen eingereicht werden, um die Übertragung und das Zertifikat einzusenden, damit das Pferd auf Ihren Namen übertragen werden kann. Informationen zum Einreichen dieser Informationen finden Sie in unseren Informationen zum Einreichen von Fotos. Vergessen Sie nicht, dass alle AMHA-Pferde sein müssen

im Alter von drei Jahren (36 Monate) dauerhaft gebracht. Wenn das Pferd, das Sie kaufen, älter als 36 Monate ist, kann es gleichzeitig mit dem Transfer dauerhaft gebracht werden.

 

Anhand eines Original-Registrierungszertifikats können Sie feststellen, ob Ihr Pferd dauerhaft gebracht wurde oder nicht. Wenn das Zertifikat weiß ist, handelt es sich um ein vorläufiges Zertifikat, und das Pferd wurde nicht dauerhaft gebracht. Wenn die Bescheinigung braun ist, wurde das Pferd dauerhaft gebracht. Ist das Zertifikat blau? Wenn ja, lesen Sie weiter!

 

Was bedeutet ein blaues Zertifikat?

Einige unserer Pferde sind elternqualifiziert. Das bedeutet, dass Vater, Mutter und Fohlen alle drei DNA-getestet wurden und die Haare des Fohlens mit denen von Vater und Mutter im Labor verglichen wurden. Voila! Die Abstammung des Fohlens wird nachgewiesen und ein blaues Zertifikat ausgestellt. Dies ist am wertvollsten, da Sie jetzt wissen, dass das Pferd, das Sie kaufen, wirklich das Pferd ist, das im Stammbaum dargestellt ist. Oft verkauft ein Züchter auf Antrag ein Fohlen oder ein junges Pferd. Dies bedeutet, dass das Pferd nicht registriert ist. Möglicherweise ist er zur Registrierung berechtigt, es wurden jedoch keine Informationen überprüft, und es werden über zwanzig Überprüfungen für jede Bewerbung durchgeführt. Viele Dinge können die Bewerbung stoppen, viele davon sind teuer!

 

ROTE FLAGGEN ZUM ANSEHEN:

  • Die Person, die auf der Rückseite des Pferdezertifikats aufgeführt ist, ist nicht die Person, bei der Sie das Pferd kaufen. Sie können keine Überweisungen überspringen. Der Verkäufer muss zuerst das Pferd auf sich selbst übertragen und dann das Pferd auf Sie übertragen. Sie können jedoch zwei Überweisungen gleichzeitig senden, sofern beide vollständig ausgefüllt und bezahlt sind.

  • Das Fohlendatum auf dem Antrag zeigt, dass das Pferd über ein Jahr alt ist. Je länger eine Person auf die Registrierung des Pferdes wartet, desto komplizierter wird es normalerweise.

  • Der Name des Züchters auf dem Antrag ist nicht die Person, die Ihnen das Pferd verkauft. (Im Wesentlichen hat die Person, die Ihnen das Pferd verkauft, es nie offiziell besessen.)

 

Wenn Ihnen eines dieser Szenarien bekannt vorkommt, können Sie beim Einsenden Ihrer Unterlagen einige Probleme haben. Es ist jedoch nicht alles verloren. Solange der Verkäufer bereit ist, mit Ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten und die Informationen bereitstellt, die Sie benötigen, können Sie das Baby trotzdem registrieren und auf dem besten Weg zu einer wunderbaren Beziehung mit der AMHA sein.

 

Wenn Sie ein Pferd kaufen und Fragen zum aktuellen Status bei der AMHA haben, rufen Sie uns bitte an. Wenn Sie den Namen oder die Registrierungsnummer des Pferdes haben, können wir Ihnen bei der Überprüfung der Informationen helfen.

AMHA

Über die Registrierung

Kontaktiere uns
  • Facebook

FOLGE UNS:

Die American Miniature Horse Association

- 5601 S. Interstate 35W, Alvarado, TX 76009 | Telefon: 817.783.5600 | Fax: 817.783.6403 | info@amha.org

Our Association > Registration > About Registration

We know how much everyone loves registration paperwork and that it can be confusing at times. So, we have a solution! A step by step guide on 'How To Register Your Horse.' We hope that this will be a useful resource to you throughout the years. Every form that you could possibly need, is explained and contained in this guide. Our forms are also all available online or in print by calling 817.783.5600. We are here to help you through this process, so if you would like further assistance or need some information, please call us at 817.783.5600 or email registration@amha.org

Before you begin, to do business with the AMHA, you must be a current member. Not a member yet? No problem, you can just fill out the application and send it in along with your registration paperwork. PLEASE NOTE: A Youth Membership does not have registration privileges.

 

 

 

STEP 1 - REGISTRATION APPLICATION

 

For detailed instructions on how to complete the registration form, please click here.

A Registration Application should be filled out for all foals. The most economical option for registering your horses is to do so before 4 months of age. Registration forms are fillable online, but must be printed, signed, and mailed to the AMHA office. If your foal is 24 months and older, it must be DNA tested and Parent qualified.

 

 

 

Registration fees are as follows: 

​FEE (USD)

$25.00

$30.00

$35.00

$45.00

$60.00

$10.00

​AGE

Birth - 4 Months

Over 4 months - 8 months

Over 8 months - 12 months

Over 12 months - 24 months

Over 24 months *Parent Qualification Required*

Gelding (at any age if already gelded)

REGISTRATION SECTION 1:

1. Choose a name for your horse. Registered names cannot exceed 35 characters including spaces, and punctuation is not allowed. Once a horse is named, that is it! You or a future owner cannot rename this horse, so pick carefully! 

(Name info:  Most AMHA horses carry a farm prefix or farm name at the beginning of their names. This is not required, but does help you build recognition for the breeding program at your farm. If you would like to reserve a farm prefix for your exclusive use, you can apply for a Prefix Reservation 

Another common naming option to consider is to include part of the sire or dam's name in the foal's name. Typically it is the sire's name that is used to reflect in the foals he produces. But if a mare's bloodline has a highly respected show horse lineage, or she has produced a show winner previously, you might see her name reflected in the foal's name also.

If you would rather have the AMHA select a name for your horse, or have us name the horse if your first two choices are not available, please just mark the box that says 'Yes, I authorize the AMHA to select a name if the above choices are unavailable or objectionable.

PLEASE NOTE: If the owner/lessee of the dam at the time of foaling fails to register the foal, the owner/lessee forfeits the right to name the offspring.

2. Determine your horse’s height, sex, foaling date, and gelding date (if applicable) Need help determining your horse's height? Click here for the How To Measure guide.

3. Determine your horse’s coat color.  Each of the options listed on the form have a drop down submenu of the color patterns that the AMHA recognizes. A horse's coat color can change with age, and the AMHA does allow you to correct the color of your horse if needed. If you need to correct the color of your horse, you will need to submit the original certificate and current photos. Selecting a horses color can sometimes be overwhelming. If you do not feel as though you are sure of what color your horse is, please just mark the 'Yes, I authorize the AMHA to designate the color as represented by photographs submitted. Several of our staff members have been identifying coat colors for more than 15 years and would be happy to assist you. For more information and examples of horse color, please click here. 

4. Now that you have identified the color of your horse, it is time to note any white leg or face markings that make it unique. This is just one more way that helps identify your horse throughout its life. PLEASE NOTE: If your horse is a Pinto or a Pintaloosa, the AMHA does not record the leg or facial markings. We use the body white on those horses to identify them. If your horse is Pinto or Pintaloosa, you can skip this step. For examples of markings, please click here

5. PARENTAGE INFORMATION The following information on the Registration Application

is required. Please be sure to complete all of the information requested in this section with current AMHA information. If you do not know the AMHA registered name or number of the sire or dam, we may be able to help you locate it. Just call 817.783.5600 or email us.

 

Some important items to note:

  • If you purchased a mare in foal, please be sure to Transfer the mare into your name PRIOR to trying to register the foal.

  • Please note that if eligible, the sire and dam must have been brought Permanent before the foal can be registered.

  • The sire and dam of any foal applying for AMHA Registration MUST have been DNA tested  if born after 1996. In addition, any stallion that has bred 5 or more mares within one breeding year, must be DNA tested.

  • You can call us at 817.783.5600 to verify if this has been done.

  • The recorded owner of the Dam's information MUST BE provided here. If you did not own the Dam at the time of foaling, you must have the recorded owner complete this section.

  • BREEDERS PLEASE NOTE: This is a step that delays many new foal registrations. If you plan to sell a horse that has not yet been registered, please provide the new owner with this section of the form completed.

REGISTRATION SECTION 2: 

BREEDERS SERVICE CERTIFICATE

PLEASE NOTE: If you owned BOTH the mare and the stallion at the time of breeding, you can skip this section. If you did not own BOTH the mare and the stallion at the time of breeding, the following information must be provided.

If you bred your mare to someone else's stallion (an outside stallion), you may have already received a Breeders Service Certificate. If so, please just submit it along with the Registration Application. If you have a Breeders Service Certificate to submit, you do not have to fill this section out.

PLEASE NOTE When asked to list the dates of the breeding season, please ensure that they match with those submitted on the Stallion Breeding Report.

REGISTRATION SECTION 3:

OWNERSHIP TRANSFER AND HEIGHT CERTIFICATION

For a full list of transfer requirements, please refer to the Ownership Transfer Form.

This section of the Registration Application does not need to be completed unless you are selling the foal at the time of registration. If you are selling the horse at the same time it is being registered, all of the following information must be submitted. Please be sure to list the date of transfer. At the time of sale/transfer, the buyer and seller must agree on the height of the horse. Once the registration transaction has been completed, the Registration Certificate will be sent to the buyer. Please note that a transfer fee applies.

 

Step 2: Photo Submission

Please use this Photo Submission Form when submitting registration photos. 

  • All applications, transfers, and Temp to Perm transactions MUST BE accompanied by AT LEAST FOUR (4) CURRENT color photographs showing all markings.

  • Photos must be no larger than 3 x 3 inches with the horse's image being 80% of the photograph.

  • The four photographs must be as follows: Left side, Right side, Headshot 1, Headshot 2

  • The head shots must be of the head facing the camera WITH THE FORELOCK PULLED COMPLETELY ASIDE SO THE ENTIRE FLAT OF THE FACE IS CLEARLY VISIBLE.

  • The side shots must show the entire horse from ears to hooves.

 

Here are some examples of acceptable photos.

RIGHT SIDE

HEADSHOT 1

LEFT SIDE

HEADSHOT 2

WHAT'S NEXT?

Once you have completed the Registration Application form and have your four current photographs ready to submit, send them to us and we'll take it from here! A list of current fees can be found on the AMHA Work Order form and please be sure to submit full payment in US dollars. Applications will not be processed until paid for in full. PLEASE NOTE: Once received, the average turnaround time on applications varies greatly. An accurate and fully completed application on average will take 14 - 21 days to be returned. Throughout the year, certain high volume periods do occur, and will increase the turnaround times.

 

BUYER BEWARE!

Please read about the potential scams and threats you should be aware of when buying your horse. 

Buyer Beware. Those words should strike fear in the hearts of every new horse owner. Because unfortunately our horse market is very similar to the used car business, a new sucker is born every 15 minutes! There are many unscrupulous horse owners just waiting to pounce on an infatuated new mini person, fleecing the sale with promises of a registerable horse when nothing could be further from the truth.

No one hears more of these tales of woe, than the AMHA Registration Supervisor, Pam Pruitt. Having worked in the registration department for over 10 years she has ample bad situations to choose from, but she shares some of the most common scenarios of new horse owner versus seller who just dumped an unregistered foal.

“It saddens us to hear the foal owner's disappointment when we have to tell them we have no record of a foal by that name, nor do we have any registered foals born that year out of that mare or by that stallion”.

Pam shares, “Typically it is the domino effect, the seller breeds his mares to one of his stallions, and then either forgets to file the stallion report or doesn't want to pay the late penalty.” And so the situation worsens. By the time the foal is born, there is no record at AMHA of the breeding, and more than likely there will be other problems by this time. An issue that is easy to sweep under the rug and catches many people off guard is the rule that both the sire and the dam MUST BE DNA TESTED, if they are breeding animals and are producing foals. Add to this the possibility the sire and dam may also be 5 years of age by now, in which case they must be brought to permanent status. If this is confusing to a breeder who has been involved with minis for some time, you can imagine the frustration of the new foal owner!

What can a “Newbie” do to avoid being “ripped off”? When buying an already registered horse, here is what you must have when you are about to sign on the dotted line…. STOP! And be sure this is what you are getting:

MUST HAVES:

An ORIGINAL certificate. Original certificates have original photos of the horse on the back. Look closely and be sure it is the horse you are buying.

An ORIGINAL ownership transfer form with all the blanks filled in. The horse's current height must be listed no matter the age of the horse.

Make sure the last recorded owner listed on the back of the certificate is the one who signs the seller section of the transfer form.

Current photos must be submitted to send in with the transfer and certificate in order to transfer the horse into your name. For information on how to submit those please see our Photo Submission information. Don't forget that all AMHA horses must be

brought permanent by the age of three (36 months). If the horse you are purchasing is older than 36 months, it may be brought permanent at the same time you do the transfer.

 

You can tell by looking at an Original Registration Certificate whether or not your horse has been brought permanent. If the certificate is white, that is a Temporary Certificate and the horse has not been brought permanent. If the certificate is brown, the horse has been brought permanent. Is the certificate blue? If so, read on!

 

What does a blue certificate mean?

Some of our horses are parent qualified. What that means is the sire, dam and foal have all three been DNA tested and the foal's hair was compared to the sire and dam at the lab. Voila! The parentage on the foal is proven, and a blue certificate is issued. This is most valuable as now you KNOW the horse you are buying is truly the horse represented on the pedigree. Many times a breeder will sell a foal or young horse on application. What this means is the horse is not registered; he may be eligible for registration, but no information has been verified and there are over twenty checks that are completed on each application, so many things might stop the application, many of them expensive!

 

RED FLAGS TO WATCH FOR:

  • The person listed on the back of the horse's certificate is not who you are buying the horse from. You cannot skip transfers; the seller must first transfer the horse to himself, then transfer the horse to you. You can however send in two transfers at the same time, as long as both are completely filled out and paid for.

  • The foaling date on the application shows the horse is over a year old. Typically, the longer a person waits to register the horse, the more complicated it becomes.

  • The name of the breeder on the application is not the person who is selling you the horse. (in essence, the person selling you the horse, never officially owned it)

 

If any of these scenarios sound familiar you may hit quite a few snags when you send your paperwork in. But all is not lost. As long as the seller is willing to work with you, and will provide the information you'll need, you can still register that baby and be well on your way to a wonderful relationship with the AMHA.

 

If you are purchasing a horse and have any questions regarding its current status with the AMHA, do not hesitate to call us. If you have the name or registration number of the horse, we can help you verify information.

AMHA

About Registration 

Contact Us
  • Facebook

FOLLOW US:

The American Miniature  Horse Association

5601 S. Interstate 35W, Alvarado, TX 76009 | Phone: 817.783.5600 | Fax: 817.783.6403 | info@amha.org